Augusta Precious Metals publishes a fixed fee schedule and a $50,000 minimum. American Hartford Gold has a much lower $10,000 minimum order but doesn't publish fixed IRA fees in its FAQ, saying they vary by account size and holdings. That makes this comparison mostly about transparency and account size.
Augusta vs. American Hartford Gold at a Glance
| Augusta Precious Metals | American Hartford Gold | |
|---|---|---|
| Published IRA minimum | $50,000 (IRA or cash) | $10,000 minimum order for a gold IRA |
| Setup fee | $50 | Not stated in its IRA FAQ |
| Ongoing annual fees | $235 ($125 custodian + $110 storage) | Varies by account size and holdings; storage "might be free" in some cases |
| First year | $285 | Not published |
| Fee coverage or promotion | Up to 10 years of custodian and depository fees paid by Augusta | Not specified in its IRA FAQ; check its current specials |
| Custody and storage | Equity Trust; depositories incl. Los Angeles, Salt Lake City, Las Vegas, Dallas, Wilmington | Depositories incl. Brink's Global Services and Delaware Depository |
| Metals | Gold and silver | Gold and silver (check for others) |
| Buyback | Policy, not guaranteed; no liquidation fee on Augusta buybacks | Not addressed in its IRA FAQ |
| Cancellation period | 7-day money-back period | Not stated in its IRA FAQ |
| Ratings | BBB A+ (accredited 2015); BCA AAA | Check BBB and BCA directly |
Augusta: FAQ updated September 23, 2026; BBB and BCA checked October 6, 2026. American Hartford Gold: American Hartford Gold: Gold IRA FAQs (modified August 31, 2026). Terms change, so confirm with each company in writing.
Key Differences
From each company's own pages, checked October 6, 2026.
Minimum: $10,000 vs. $50,000
American Hartford Gold's $10,000 minimum order opens the door to savers Augusta can't serve. If you have between $10,000 and $50,000 to move, it's one of the options to quote.
Published fees vs. fees on request
Augusta publishes exact amounts: $50 setup and $235 a year, with up to 10 years of custodian and depository fees paid by Augusta. American Hartford Gold's IRA FAQ says fees vary with account size and holdings and that storage might be free depending on your situation, without listing amounts. That isn't necessarily more expensive, but you'll need a written quote to compare.
Shipping and storage
American Hartford Gold says orders ship free with insurance and tracking, and names Brink's and Delaware Depository. Augusta lists several depository locations and says holdings are fully allocated.
The Cost Neither Fee Schedule Shows
Annual fees are only part of the cost. The bigger number is usually the premium you pay over the metal's melt value, which depends on the product. Ask both companies to quote the same products (for example, a common gold bullion coin) on the same day, with the spot price and price per ounce in writing. Then ask what each would pay to buy those products back. See gold IRA fees and bullion vs. proof coins.
Which Should You Choose?
Choose Augusta if
- You're moving $50,000 or more
- You want a published fee schedule before you call
- You want long, written fee coverage
Choose American Hartford Gold if
- You're moving $10,000 to $50,000
- A written quote shows lower total costs for your account size
- You prefer its products after comparing price per ounce
Whichever you lean toward, put our 15 questions to both companies and compare the written answers. For more on Augusta, read our full Augusta Precious Metals review; for lower-minimum options, see Augusta alternatives.
Disclosure: we earn commissions from Augusta Precious Metals, not from American Hartford Gold. Both companies are described using their own published information.